Toronto, Ontario JULY 21st, 2021  The Greater Toronto Hockey League is proud to announce the acceptance of Seaside Hockey as a new GTHL Member. Seaside Hockey, based out of north Scarborough, will be operating a U7 and under program to begin in the 2021-22 season. 

Seaside Hockey was founded by Kirk Brooks, Nathaniel Brooks, and GTHL Alumnus and retired NHL player, Anthony Stewart. With the help of the Executive Board and the GTHL, Seaside Hockey is excited to bring hockey back to one of the most diverse areas of the province, following many years as a home to Malvern House League. 

“On behalf of Seaside and all those who have helped to make this possible, we are very excited to get hockey growing in north Scarborough again,” Brooks said. “We look forward to working with the community and all of the community partners as we welcome as many kids as we can to the game of hockey.” 

“This approval is an example of the community partnerships necessary in order for the GTHL to have an impact on growing the game of hockey in the GTA,” said Scott Oakman, Executive Director and Chief Operating Officer of the GTHL. “This program aligns perfectly with the new GTHL Transition Game Strategic Plan and signifies the types of initiatives the GTHL is working to pursue while we strive to fulfill the outcomes of that plan.” 

Seaside Hockey is committed to making hockey available to more Canadians, providing opportunities for racialized players to participate in the sport with confidence and ability through online educational programs and mentorship relationships from all levels of sport. Seaside Hockey, through quality instruction, professional coaching, life skills and leading-edge hockey-based mentorship programs, uses hockey to offer minority youth space to develop, learn, be challenged, and to support their growth into confident individuals. 

Currently, Seaside Hockey is the first minor hockey association that will be run by members of the Black Hockey Community, with 95 per cent representation from diverse backgrounds within the Executive Board and among the founders.